j2satx
Volunteer tester

ID: 339
Credit: 16,191,581
RAC: 0
Message 1997 - Posted 9 Jan 2007 12:46:51 UTC

@clownius

Off topic
Ive had issues with 6.10 mainly arts but im actually on 6.10 now. its a bit of a mess install. I have way to many local packages (i cant remove them or it wants to remove 30 other things i need) and cant get the Intel compiler to install properly. Maybe next time im bored ill consider a fresh install but at the moment the computers still waiting on a SATA DVD burner to come in and i have stuff i cant rescue off the HDD until it arrives.
Ill have another go at the seti optimized for Linux Core 2 Duo when i have the hardware right.

I'm really new at the Linux thing, but I tried a dozen packages and found the Ubuntu family to be the easiest for me to install and configure and it seems to have what I need to interface with Windows. I haven't found a GUI interface yet to use on my Windows machines to work with the Linux machines. I have my Linux machines on KVMs so far, but that only helps me "locally" when I'm out in the computer room.

Profile clownius
Volunteer tester

ID: 280
Credit: 2,677
Message 2020 - Posted 10 Jan 2007 2:30:49 UTC

Im told RealVNC has a good free version.
Boincview can also be used to monitor Linux boxes as well as Windoze ones.
My only windoze machine these days is the one i have setup (and paid for) for my little sister to use so i dont have much interaction with windoze machines and as such no little about the options other than what i have heard.

Profile Trog Dog
Volunteer tester

ID: 279
Credit: 145,805
Message 2028 - Posted 10 Jan 2007 13:26:00 UTC - in response to Message ID 1997 .

@clownius

Off topic