Advanced search

Message boards : Number crunching : WU with no progress and no end

Sort
iancantwell

ID: 85971
Credit: 10,326
RAC: 0
Message 7160 - Posted 15 Oct 2013 15:13:15 UTC

I joined a few days ago on the basis of the Nobel Chemistry prize and received one unit CHARMM 34a2.6.23 series. 4.10.00 time.
It ran for an hour without any % progress then when my computer switched projects and restarted it went back to zero with 7.7mb utilised. I then let it run for 5.10.00 and it still had 0% progress and 7.7mb. So there is a problem with WU or compatibility with my computer.
I have suspended the unit and refused any further work. As I have a set of projects that work with few problems, I don't need the hassle or frustration, as a 2CPU laptop volunteer. So what do I do now? abort the unit? As I am not a programmer I will not be fiddling around with coding. If I don't get a simple to implement answer I will just suspend the project.
This problem is commonly mentioned over the last years on your message board but still remains. If you wish volunteers to join and stay than treat their efforts with respect and give them hassle free units

Profile TheFiend

ID: 9482
Credit: 20,705,527
Message 7161 - Posted 17 Oct 2013 18:30:14 UTC - in response to Message ID 7160 .

I joined a few days ago on the basis of the Nobel Chemistry prize and received one unit CHARMM 34a2.6.23 series. 4.10.00 time.
It ran for an hour without any % progress then when my computer switched projects and restarted it went back to zero with 7.7mb utilised. I then let it run for 5.10.00 and it still had 0% progress and 7.7mb. So there is a problem with WU or compatibility with my computer.